Theatre News
MMC Theatre Set to Perform Classic Moliere Comedy
Published Date 2\13\2014
Mount Marty College Theatre brings to the college stage the most famous of Moliere's comedies banned in 1664 by the Archbishop of Paris, TARTUFFE, or The Imposter, or The Hypocrite, follows the antics of the central character who, by feigning religious virtue, seeks to win over - in fact, take over - Orgon's household. Everyone in the house except Orgon sees through the deception of Tartuffe. How far will the family go to expose Tartuffe for the con-man he is? The classic, with an English Verse adaptation by Richard Wilbur, will run Thursday through Saturday, February 27, 28 and March 1, beginning at 7:30 p.m. in Marian Auditorium.

TARTUFFE is under the direction of Dr. Adrianne Adderley, with Scenic and Lighting Design by James Hovland, and Costume Design by Dawn Ferris. The cast includes: Billy Danner, Sioux City, IA as Tartuffe; Vincent Raia of Windom, MN as Orgon; Abby Turner of Sioux City, IA as Elmire; Jack Adderley, Yankton, SD as Cleante; Will Adderley, Yankton, SD as Damis; Stacey Schleich, Mitchell, SD as Flippote/Dorine; Caitlin Ostrander, DeSmet, SD as Flippote/Dorine; Ricardo Marroquin, South Sioux City, IA as Valere, with assistance of Stage Manager Catherine Pratt, Le Mars, IA; Assistant Stage Manager Katie Adam, Hope, MI; Hair Designer Lelia Elder, Yankton, SD; House Manager Taylor Hirsch, Yankton, SD; and Box Office Manager Raquel Sutera, Tabor, SD. Production Crew includes Samie Tobey, Norkfolk, NE; Gina Dehtlefsen, Stickney, SD; Ellen Hanson, Vermillion, SD, Natasha Borah, Milbank, SD, Billy Danner, Sioux City, IA, Catherine Pratt, LeMars, IA, Katie Adam, Hope, MI, Matthew Hoines, Beresford, SD; Ryan Oye, Luverne, MN, Grant Flicek, Canton, SD; Nermin Krdzalic, Sioux Falls, SD; Anyut Riak, Khartron, Sudan; Cody Ulmer, Yankton, SD; James Elliot, Estelline, SD; Bud Smith, St. Louis, MO; Dani Gill, Yankton, SD; Mandy O'Malley, North Platte, NE, Zach Bauman, Sioux Falls, SD, Jordyn Borer, Humphrey, NE, Jenece Holzbauer, Wagner, SD, and Kelsey Mesman, Springfield, SD.

TARTUFFE carries a PG-13 rating for Adult Situations. Ticket prices are $8 for adults and $4 for students of any age. Reservations may be made by calling the Theatre Box Office, 668-1234, Monday through Friday, Noon until 5 p.m., beginning Tuesday February 18.

For more information, please contact the MMC Theatre Department at 668-1533 or visit www.mtmc.edu/theatre.
MMC Student Runner-Up in Regional Theatre Competition
Published Date 1\29\2014
MMC freshman theatre major, Catherine Pratt, finished in the Runner-Up position as part of the National Stage Management Fellowship competition in the Region V Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival held on the campus of University of Nebraska-Lincoln January 19-25. Pratt was one of twenty-seven participants in the challenge, and the only freshman level student in the competition.

The challenge is based on the following criteria: professionalism and completeness of the prompt script and other paperwork; effectiveness of coordinating and managing a festival event, based on the respondent's feedback from the regional event coordinator; personal demeanor and communication skills based on a series of interviews; and written material submitted prior to the region festival.

Ms. Pratt presented materials from her recent Stage Manager duties with MMC Theatre's fall musical, The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee. She is now currently stage managing MMC Theatre's production of Tartuffe set to open February 27th. Ms. Pratt is from Le Mars, Iowa and the daughter of Kevin and Ruth Pratt.

Visit www.kcactf5.org for more information on the Region V Kennedy Center American College Theatre Festival and for more information on Mount Marty College's theatre department visit www.mtmc.edu/theatre or contact Department Chair, Andrew Henrickson at ahenrickson@mtmc.edu.
MMC Theatre Gears Up for "SPELLING BEE" Musical Comedy
Published Date 10\10\2013
The Mount Marty College Theatre Department, in cooperation with the MMC Music Department, will present THE 25th ANNUAL PUTNAM COUNTY SPELLING BEE as part of Family Weekend activities November 7, 8, 9. Performances will be held in Marian Auditorium beginning each evening at 7:30 p.m.

Under the direction of Dr. Adrianne Adderley, "BEE" tells the hilarious tale of six quirky yet charming outsiders who take part in an annual spelling bee, held at Will C. Payne Middle School, the one place where they can stand out yet fit in at the same time vying for the spelling bee championship of a lifetime.

Cast members for BEE include Tessa Carda, Armour, SD as Rona Lisa Peretti; Ryan Oye, Luverne, MN, as Douglas Panch ; and Nathan Porras, Crofton, NE, as Mitch M. Mahoney; with "Spellers" Gage Blaschke, Sioux Falls, SD as Chip Tolentino; Molly Henrickson, Yankton, SD as Logan SchwartzandGrubenierre; Billy Danner, Sioux City, IA as Leaf Coneybear; Jacob Fokken, Yankton, SD as William Barfee; Johanna Scheich, Mitchell, SD as Marcy Park; and Abby Turner, Sioux City, IA as Olive Ostrovsky;. Dr. Kenneth Tice directs the music, James L. Hovland designs the scenery, lights and sound, Dawn Ferris is in charge of costumes, with Kathryn Reimler leading the choreography. Dr. Adderley is assisted by stage manager Catherine Pratt, LeMars, IA.

THE 25th ANNUAL SPELLING BEE, a Tony-award winner features Music and Lyrics by William Finn; Book by Rachel Sheinkin; Conceived by Rebecca Feldman; Additional material by Jay Reiss; Originally directed on Broadway by James Lapine; Originally produced on Broadway by David Stone, James L. Nederlander, Barbara Whitman, Patrick Catullo, Barrington Stage Company, Second Stage Theatre.

BEE carries a PG-13 rating. Tickets will go on sale October 28 in the Theatre Box Office, located in the upper level of the Roncalli building; or, to reserve seats please call 668-1234 from noon to 5pm, Monday through Friday. Ticket prices are $10 for adults and $8 for students.

For more information on the theatre department at Mount Marty College, please visit www.mtmc.edu/theatre or contact Department Chair Andrew Henrickson at ahenrickson@mtmc.edu.