News Release


MMC Concert Band Presents Spring Band Concert

Published Date4\29\2014
Mount Marty College Concert Band will present its Spring Band Concert on Sunday, May 4 in Marian Auditorium at 7:30 pm. The band is directed by Dean Rettedal, Associate Professor of Music at Mount Marty College. The event is free and open to the public.

The concert will include two classic pieces from concert band literature, "Toccata for Band" by Frank Erickson and "First Suite in Eb" by Gustav Holst. The percussion section will be featured in "Arabian Dances", using eastern music and percussion instruments like darbukas. March lovers will enjoy the entertaining Fillmore March, "Lassus Trombone". The band will perform a medley from the Broadway musical "Grease" and a brand new piece that is a favorite of the musicians, "Zeus" by contemporary composer Rob Romeyn.

The band, under the direction of Dean Rettedal, include: Amy Berning - Comfrey, MN; Anna Kollasch - Whittemore, IA; Caitlin Ostrander - De Smet, SD; Carissa Scherschligt - Mitchell, SD; Jenece Holzbauer - Wagner, SD; John Hodson - Martin, SD; Kaleb Carsten - Kimball, SD; Kari Peterson - Omaha, NE; Kaylee Fly - Omaha, NE; Kelsey Thury - Mitchell, SD; Megan Leader - Crofton, NE; Megan Wortmann - Norfolk, NE; Nathan Porras - Crofton, NE; Samantha Huber - Sioux Falls, SD; Sarah Donovan - Gretna, NE; Stacey Schleich, - Mitchell, SD; Tessa Carda - Armour, SD; Trisha Kaufman - Armour, SD; Jenny Bjergaard - Yankton, SD; Kristen Shanahan – Burke, SD; Rachel Wiggins - St. Charles, IA; Martee Herman - Yankton, SD; S. Candyce Chrystal - Yankton, SD; Robbie Neswick- Sioux City, IA; Bill Magera -Yankton, SD; S. Corinne Lammer – Yankton, SD; Leacadia Christensen – Viborg, SD; Steve LaFave – Mission Hill, SD; Christian Petrich – Lennox, SD; S. Kathy Burt – Yankton, SD; Sophie Drotzman – Yankton, SD; Kim Olson – Mission Hill, SD; Wayne Sharp – Yankton, SD; Kelsey Abbey – Elk Point, SD; William Danner – N. Sioux City, SD; Bobbi Jo Carr – Yankton, SD; Sean Bauder – Tyndall, SD; Alan Ferris – Yankton, SD; Matt LaFave - Mission Hill, SD; Todd Carr - Yankton, SD; Meghan Powell – Gayville, SD; Aaron Schmeling – Vermillion, SD; Kevin Cosman – Yankton, SD; Elliot Bierwagen – Sioux Falls, SD; Rebecca Bryan – Murdo, SD; Elly Miller – Vermillion, SD; Kendra Rock – Canton, SD; S. Debra Kolecka – Yankton, SD.

For more information on the Mount Marty College Concert Band, please visit www.mtmc.edu/arts/music/Band.aspx or contact Dean Rettedal at 605-668-1538 or drettedal@mtmc.edu.